Food for Thought in Montmartre

The best restaurants are the ones recommended by a friend. That’s how I came across L’Annexe Montmartre. I was looking for a cosy, romantic, yet informal restaurant and l’Annexe fits the bill perfectly.

Situated along the wiggly Rue des Trois Frères near the Sacre Coeur, l’Annexe is in the heart of the Montmartre village. The service is excellent and the restaurant is filled with little quirky touches that all add to its charm. The fresh bread is served in a paper bag, boulangerie style, my dessert came in a jam jar on an old school slate and each table was home to a little piggy bank with a crazy hairstyle – to put your tips in.

It’s a bit pricier than I’d usually go for, you have to allow around 40€ per person for a starter, main course, dessert and wine. For me, that pushes it into the “special occasion” restaurant category, which is why we were there for a birthday!

As is the case with many French restaurants, the menu is not particularly extensive, which can be a problem for non-meat-eaters, like myself, who often find themselves stuck with only one choice, or in some cases, nothing they can eat. So, I was pleasantly surprised to find on the main course list, not just one fish dish, but also a vegetarian dish, meaning I could actually choose!

The food was lovely. I had the risotto du jour and the Frog had the lamb with couscous, all delicious. And my starter of Saint Marcelin fondu was perfect.

However, the absolute high point for me was definitely the dessert. As a seasoned chocoholic when I see a dessert called “Mousse au chocolat EXPLOSIVE” (explosive chocolate mousse), I will have already decided on my dessert before choosing my starter, or even my wine. It was divine. Light, but extremely chocolatey and topped with popping candy (the “explosive” part). Just that alone would have been enough, it would have been sufficient to make it on to my “Top desserts EVER” list, but, there was more, the finishing touch, the explosive mousse’s crowning glory… A chocolate spoon. This is a restaurant I will be returning to.

For more info go to the restaurant website l’annexe montmartre

Leave a Reply

